Senate and Assembly committee appointments for 2017-18 session completed

Trouble viewing this email? Click here »

Senate and Assembly committee appointments for 2017-18 session completed

Assembly committee assignments announced for 2017-18

Ben Allen, Patrick O’Donnell chair Senate and Assembly Education Committees

Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon (D-Paramount) today announced the full Assembly committee rosters, adding to the previously-announced committee chairs, for the 2017-18 Legislative Session. The announcement completes committee assignments for both houses of the Legislature after Senate assignments were announced by President pro Tem Kevin De León (D-Los Angeles) in December.

Senator Ben Allen (D-Santa Monica), a former school board member from Santa Monica-Malibu USD, now chairs the Senate Education Committee, with Asm. Patrick O’Donnell (D-Long Beach) remaining as chair of the Assembly Education Committee. Seven members of CSBA’s informal School Board Caucus, comprised of former school and county board members now serving in the Legislature, hold seats on key K-12 education committees.

For a full list of Senate committee assignments, click here
For a full list of Assembly committee assignments, click here

Key education committee rosters

*denotes member of CSBA’s informal School Board Caucus

Senate Education Committee:
Senator Benjamin Allen (Chair)*  
Senator Scott Wilk (Vice Chair)  
Senator Cathleen Galgiani  
Senator Connie M. Leyva  
Senator Tony Mendoza  
Senator Richard Pan  
Senator Andy Vidak   

Assembly Education Committee:
Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell (Chair)
Assemblymember Rocky Chávez (Vice Chair)
Assemblymember Todd Gloria
Assemblymember Kevin Kiley
Assemblymember Kevin McCarty
Assemblymember Tony Thurmond*
Assemblymember Shirley Weber* 

Senate Budget Subcommittee 1 on Education:
Senator Anthony J. Portantino (Chair)
Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson
Senator John M. W. Moorlach 

Assembly Budget Subcommitee 2 on Education Finance:
Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (Chair)
Assemblymember Rocky Chávez (Vice Chair)
Assemblymember Jacqui Irwin
Assemblymember Monique Limón*
Assemblymember Jose Medina*
Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell
Assemblymember Randy Voepel
Assemblymember Phil Ting (Democratic Alternate)
Assemblymember Jay Obernolte (Republican Alternate) 

Senate Appropriations Committee:
Senator Ricardo Lara (Chair)
Senator Patricia Bates (Vice Chair)
Senator Jim Beall
Senator Steve Bradford
Senator Jerry Hill
Senator Jim Nielsen
Senator Scott Wiener 

Assembly Appropriations Committee:
Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (Chair)
Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (Vice Chair)
Assemblymember Richard Bloom
Assemblymember Raul Bocanegra
Assemblymember Rob Bonta
Assemblymember Bill Brough
Assemblymember Ian Calderon
Assemblymember Ed Chau*
Assemblymember Susan Eggman
Assemblymember Vince Fong
Assemblymember Laura Friedman
Assemblymember James Gallagher
Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia
Assemblymember Adam Gray
Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi*
Assemblymember Jay Obernolte
Assemblymember Eloise Reyes

If you have questions, please contact the Governmental Relations Department.

Contact CSBA

California School Boards Association | 3251 Beacon Blvd., West Sacramento, CA 95691
Phone: (800) 266-3382 | Fax: (916) 371-3407
Website | Privacy Policy | Unsubscribe